Part Datasheet Audit


Thought for 5 mins 11 sec
Thought for 7 sec
Reading schematic details.
Thought for 7 sec — Exploring project terminals
Reading layout details.
Thought for 8 sec
Awaiting 1 background task
Received notification from "L9396B Part Audit" that it finished — picking the work back up.
I’ve reconciled the executor’s report with the live symbol and footprint inspection. The audit covers all 64 numbered leads plus the exposed pad; I’m closing the checklist and preserving the detailed findings in the project file.
Audit complete for all 64 pins plus exposed pad. The official ST datasheet URL was already set, so no URL update was needed. Detailed results are in Part Datasheet Audit.
Key findings
  • Pins 1–64 names and numbers match the datasheet.
  • Footprint matches the fundamental TQFP64EP, 0.5 mm pitch, 10 × 10 mm body, and 4.5 × 4.5 mm exposed-pad geometry.
  • Incorrect metadata: Part Type = Inductors, Part Sub-Type = Fixed, plus an inapplicable empty Inductance property.
  • All 64 pins lack descriptions and have Pin Type = Unspecified.
  • Package/case metadata is missing.
  • EP is physically correct but its electrical designation as pin 65 and required connection are not defined by the datasheet.
  • Pin 53 NU must be connected to ground, but that requirement is not captured in its description.
Suggested next steps
  1. Correct the IC classification and package metadata.
  2. Populate all pin descriptions and electrical types.
  3. Resolve the exposed-pad electrical connection using additional official ST guidance.
  4. Review EP paste windowing, courtyard, and STEP-model alignment before release.
Clean up metadata and pins
Resolve exposed pad
Review manufacturability details
Create bring-up checklist

VCORE
Pin Number
32
PDS
Pin Number
21
I_CORE_SH
Pin Number
37
VCCSEL
Pin Number
41
RSUL0
Pin Number
6
AI2
Pin Number
3
CLK
Pin Number
57
GNDBST
Pin Number
52
GNDD
Pin Number
54
VDG
Pin Number
26
VC4
Pin Number
45
WSO0
Pin Number
60
AI0
Pin Number
5
PRN
Pin Number
58
BCKSW
Pin Number
42
CBS
Pin Number
35
FSN
Pin Number
50
FAULT
Pin Number
64
VC2
Pin Number
47
CP
Pin Number
44
AI3
Pin Number
2
VBM
Pin Number
29
PRI
Pin Number
17
VC3
Pin Number
46
PDG
Pin Number
20
VPREREG
Pin Number
40
NU
Pin Number
53
VDBATT
Pin Number
25
PRG
Pin Number
18
PDI
Pin Number
16
WDTDIS
Pin Number
28
PDBATT
Pin Number
22
VC1
Pin Number
48
VBST
Pin Number
43
RSUH2
Pin Number
11
RSUH0
Pin Number
7
WSO3
Pin Number
63
WSO1
Pin Number
61
RSUL1
Pin Number
8
VB_SW
Pin Number
23
VCC5
Pin Number
39
SCORE
Pin Number
33
AI4
Pin Number
1
SDI
Pin Number
56
GCORE
Pin Number
34
VB
Pin Number
24
VCC
Pin Number
38
I_CORE_SL
Pin Number
36
VDS
Pin Number
27
RSUH3
Pin Number
13
RSUL3
Pin Number
12
CS
Pin Number
59
GNDA
Pin Number
14
AI1
Pin Number
4
SDO
Pin Number
55
GPOD0
Pin Number
15
IGN
Pin Number
30
EP
Pin Number
65
VCOREFDBK
Pin Number
31
RSUH1
Pin Number
9
WSO2
Pin Number
62
BSTSW
Pin Number
51
RESET
Pin Number
49
PRS
Pin Number
19
RSUL2
Pin Number
10
Part Datasheet Audit
Scope and evidence status
This audit compares the current Flux part project against the official STMicroelectronics L9396B/L Automotive multiple power supply IC datasheet, DS14925 Rev 6 (March 2026). Official PDF: https://www.st.com/resource/en/datasheet/l9396b.pdf
The PDF was queried directly with the Flux datasheet tool in focused batches for identity, package, pin table, exposed pad, mechanical data, operating limits, thermal data, and major functions. The extraction returned official-PDF page/line evidence but did not expose immutable flux:datasheet: source IDs or usable [^flux:cite:…] markers. Therefore this file does not invent inline Flux citations; this is a tooling verification limitation, not a lack of primary evidence.
Authoritative citation locators
All datasheet-derived claims below refer to the official ST PDF linked above. Use these printed-PDF locators: Features and Table 1 Device summary, p. 1; Table 2 Pins description, pp. 10–12; Table 3 Absolute maximum ratings and temperature requirements, pp. 13–16; Table 4 Operating range, pp. 16–17; Table 63 TQFP64 package mechanical data and note 3, pp. 105–107. The datasheet-query service did not return immutable Flux inline citation IDs, so table/page locators are supplied instead.
Current project metadata inventory

Table


FieldCurrent valueAudit result
Project/part nameL9396BMatches order code in official datasheet
Manufacturer Part NumberL9396BMatches the tray-packed buck variant; L9396B-TR is the tape-and-reel ordering variant
Manufacturer NameSTMicroelectronicsMatches
Project/core description metadataAutomotive multiple power supply ICMatches the datasheet title; this is project/core metadata, not a stored component property
Designator PrefixICReasonable
Datasheet URLhttps://www.st.com/resource/en/datasheet/l9396b.pdfPresent before audit; official direct PDF; no URL mutation required
Part TypeInductorsMismatch — incorrect category for a power-management/System Basis IC
Part Sub-TypeFixedPresent and consistent with the erroneous inductor classification; not applicable to this IC
InductanceEmptyPresent but empty; further evidence that an inductor property schema was incorrectly assigned
Package propertyNot present in project propertiesMissing metadata; datasheet package is TQFP64EP, 10 × 10 × 1 mm, exposed pad down
Published part UIDe773c13c-0002-4d10-a0c7-8ac5e832cd05Inventory only
Project terminal count65 terminal objects64 numbered leads plus one project EP terminal
PCB pad count6564 perimeter pads plus one exposed-pad land
Available asset inventory

Table


RoleAssetStatus
Default symbolL9396B Symbol.svgPresent; custom SVG is selected as default
FootprintF_QFP50P1200X1200X120-65N.kicad_modPresent and attached as the default footprint
3D modelL9396B.stpPresent and referenced by the footprint
Thumbnailimage1.pngPresent and marked as project thumbnail
Exact identity and variant
The exact stored order code is L9396B, the programmable-buck version supplied in trays. The same silicon/package is offered as L9396B-TR for tape-and-reel packing. This project does not identify the -TR packing suffix, so the exact current MPN is correctly interpreted as the tray order code, not the tape-and-reel variant.
Lifecycle note
Official ST sources are internally inconsistent: the ST L9396 family product page labels the family NRND (Not Recommended for New Design), while the official ST eStore page for the specific L9396B order code labels it Active. This audit therefore does not assign a definitive lifecycle state; sourcing decisions should re-check both official pages at the time of purchase.
The L9396B is an automotive power-management System Basis Chip for a single 12 V battery system. It combines a boost regulator, buck pre-regulator, multiple linear/configurable regulator rails, external-FET VCORE buck control, wheel-speed/tracking interfaces, pre-drivers, SPI, watchdog/fail-safe functions, ADC/monitoring, and wake-up/standby functions.
Concise key specifications
  • AEC-Q100 qualified; ISO 26262 compliant and ASIL-D systems ready.
  • Integrated boost regulator: 9 V, 300 mA, 2 MHz.
  • Integrated buck pre-regulator: 6.5 V / 7.2 V, 1 A, 465 kHz.
  • Integrated VCC5 LDO: 5 V, 250 mA.
  • Configurable VCC LDO: 3.3 V / 5 V, 100 mA.
  • Programmable external-FET VCORE buck: 0.8 V to 5 V, up to 1 A for L9396B.
  • Normal battery operating range: 4.5 V to 19 V with boost (6 V required for start-up); 6 V to 19 V without boost.
  • Ambient operating temperature: -40 °C to 135 °C.
  • Junction temperature range: -40 °C to 175 °C; storage: -55 °C to 150 °C.
  • Typical junction-to-ambient thermal resistance: 26 °C/W under the datasheet JEDEC 2s2p natural-convection condition; junction-to-case on the exposed-pad side: 2.9 °C/W.
  • Package: TQFP64EP, 10 × 10 × 1 mm nominal body, 12 × 12 mm basic lead span, 0.50 mm pitch, 4.5 × 4.5 mm exposed die pad (Option A).
Complete pin and schematic-symbol comparison
Overall findings
  • Pins 1–64: every project pin number and pin name matches the datasheet pin table exactly.
  • Pin descriptions: absent on every project terminal; all 64 datasheet descriptions are therefore missing.
  • Pin types: every project terminal is set to Unspecified; all 64 conflict with the datasheet's Input, Output, I/O, or Supply classification.
  • Local/Global classification: not represented in the current Flux terminal properties.
  • Duplicated supplies/grounds: there are no duplicate pin numbers. Distinct ground domains are correctly named GNDA (14), GNDBST (52), and GNDD (54). NU (53) is a separate pin that the datasheet requires to be connected to ground voltage.
  • Project terminal 65 / EP: the project adds a numbered schematic terminal named EP and PCB pad 65. The official pin table ends at pin 64 and does not define an electrical pin number, name, pin type, or required net for the exposed die pad. The package drawing does verify a 4.5 × 4.5 mm exposed pad. Treating it as a routable terminal may be useful, but its number and electrical connection are not verified by the datasheet and must not be assumed to be GNDA, GNDD, or GNDBST.
Pins 1–32

Table


PinProject nameDatasheet functionDatasheet typeProject typeResult
1AI4Analog input to ADC converterInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
2AI3Analog input to ADC converterInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
3AI2Analog input to ADC converterInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
4AI1Input 1 to select VCORE functionInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
5AI0Input 0 to select VCORE functionInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
6RSUL0WSS ground returnI/O, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
7RSUH0WSS / tracking regulated outputI/O, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
8RSUL1WSS ground returnI/O, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
9RSUH1WSS / tracking regulated outputI/O, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
10RSUL2WSS ground returnI/O, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
11RSUH2WSS outputI/O, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
12RSUL3WSS ground returnI/O, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
13RSUH3WSS outputI/O, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
14GNDAAnalog groundSupply, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
15GPOD0GPO driver drain terminalI/O, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
16PDIMotor Pump HS FET control pinInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
17PRIMotor Pump recirculation FET control pinInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
18PRGMotor Pump recirculation FET gate controlOutput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
19PRSMotor Pump recirculation FET source pinInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
20PDGMotor Pump HS FET gate controlOutput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
21PDSMotor Pump HS FET source pinInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
22PDBATTBattery sense for Motor Pump FET pre-driverInput, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
23VB_SWBattery protected outputI/O, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
24VBBattery line inputSupply, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
25VDBATTBattery sense for Fail Safe FET pre-driverInput, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
26VDGFail Safe FET gate controlOutput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
27VDSFail Safe FET source pinInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
28WDTDISWatchdog disableInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
29VBMBattery senseInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
30IGNWake-up pin for battery connectionInput, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
31VCOREFDBKVCORE voltage feedbackInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
32VCOREMCU core voltage supplyInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
Pins 33–65

Table


PinProject nameDatasheet functionDatasheet typeProject typeResult
33SCORESource pin for VCORE regulator external FETI/O, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
34GCOREGate control for VCORE regulator external FETI/O, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
35CBSVCORE bootstrap capacitorI/O, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
36I_CORE_SLShunt input for current sensing on VCORE regulatorInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
37I_CORE_SHShunt input for current sensing on VCORE regulatorInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
38VCC3.3 V / 5 V MCU I/O supplySupply, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
39VCC55 V MCU I/O and ADC supplyOutput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
40VPREREGPre-regulator outputSupply, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
41VCCSELVoltage selection for VCC regulatorInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
42BCKSWSwitched pre-regulator outputI/O, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
43VBSTDevice battery line input or boost regulated outputSupply, GlobalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
44CPCharge pump outputSupply, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
45VC4Charge pump second-capacitor high terminalI/O, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
46VC3Charge pump second-capacitor low terminalI/O, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
47VC2Charge pump first-capacitor high terminalI/O, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
48VC1Charge pump first-capacitor low terminalI/O, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
49RESETReset output pinOutput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
50FSNFail-safe negated digital outputOutput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
51BSTSWSwitched boost regulator outputI/O, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
52GNDBSTBoost regulator groundSupply, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
53NUNot used; connect to ground voltageInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing; grounding requirement undocumented in project
54GNDDDigital groundSupply, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
55SDOSPI data digital outputOutput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
56SDISPI data digital inputInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
57CLKSPI clockInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
58PRNMCU clock signalI/O, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
59CSChip-select digital inputInput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
60WSO0WSS pass-through outputOutput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
61WSO1WSS pass-through outputOutput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
62WSO2WSS pass-through outputOutput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
63WSO3WSS pass-through outputOutput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
64FAULTGeneral fault outputOutput, LocalUnspecifiedName/number match; description/type missing
65EPExposed die pad; 4.5 × 4.5 mm package featureNot listed as an electrical pinUnspecifiedPhysical pad verified; electrical terminal number/name/net requirement unverified
PCB footprint and pad comparison
Verified from project inspection
  • Footprint asset: F_QFP50P1200X1200X120-65N.kicad_mod.
  • Footprint description: TQFP64 (10x10x1 mm exp. pad down).
  • 64 perimeter SMD pads numbered 1 through 64, plus center pad 65.
  • Perimeter pad pitch is 0.50 mm on all four sides.
  • Perimeter pad copper size is 0.30 × 1.475 mm.
  • Pad-row centerline is 5.738 mm from package center.
  • Center pad 65 is 4.50 × 4.50 mm.
  • Fabrication outline is 10.00 × 10.00 mm with a pin-1 chamfer.
  • Silkscreen has corner segments and a distinct pin-1 circular marker.
  • The footprint includes a STEP model asset named L9396B.stp.
  • No PCB rulesets are defined in the part project.
Datasheet comparison

Table


FeatureDatasheetProject footprintResult
Package familyTQFP64EP, exposed pad downTQFP64 with exposed padMatch
Perimeter lead count6464Match
Total copper lands represented64 leads + exposed-pad land65 padsMatch physically
Lead pitch0.50 mm BSC0.50 mmMatch
Molded body10.00 × 10.00 mm BSC10.00 × 10.00 mm fab outlineMatch
Overall lead span12.00 × 12.00 mm BSC package dimensionPad geometry extends beyond body; package lead span is not directly represented as a fab outlineNo contradiction; land pattern cannot be proven from package outline alone
Package height1.20 mm maximum; 1.0 mm nominal body heightFootprint name encodes 1.20 mm; STEP model existsName matches; actual STEP height not proven by inspection
Exposed die padOption A, 4.50 × 4.50 mmPad 65, 4.50 × 4.50 mmMatch
Pin numbering1–64 around package1–64 sequentially around four sides; pin-1 marker presentMatch by payload inspection
Exposed-pad electrical numberNot defined in pin tableNumbered 65Unverified project convention
Recommended land patternNot supplied in this datasheet0.30 × 1.475 mm perimeter landsCannot verify against official datasheet
Solder-paste segmentationNot suppliedFull 4.5 × 4.5 mm F.Paste opening on EPCannot verify against official datasheet; manufacturing review recommended
Thermal-via patternNot suppliedNone defined in part footprintCannot verify against official datasheet
CourtyardNot suppliedNo explicit courtyard visible in footprint payloadNot verifiable from datasheet; footprint completeness concern
3D model fitMechanical dimensions in package drawingSTEP asset presentModel scale, seating, pin alignment, and height not proven by available inspection
Mismatches and severity
High
  1. Project Part Type is Inductors. This is categorically wrong for the L9396B automotive power-management/System Basis IC and can corrupt search, BOM classification, and automated review. The accompanying Part Sub-Type: Fixed and present-but-empty Inductance property are consistent with, and add evidence of, the same erroneous inductor classification.
  2. EP is authored as electrical terminal/pad number 65, but the official pin table contains only pins 1–64 and does not specify an exposed-pad electrical net. The physical exposed pad is real and correctly sized, but its electrical numbering and connection are unsupported by the datasheet. Do not assume a ground domain without additional official ST package/application guidance.
Medium
  1. All 64 documented terminals have Pin Type: Unspecified. Each conflicts with the datasheet Input/Output/I/O/Supply classification, weakening ERC and semantic checks.
  2. All 64 documented terminals are missing Pin Description. The names are correct, but the symbol omits the complete datasheet function text.
  3. Package metadata is absent at project level. The footprint is consistent with TQFP64EP, but Package or Case Code is not populated.
  4. NU pin 53 grounding requirement is not captured in its project description/type metadata. Its name and number match, but the datasheet explicitly says it must be connected to ground voltage.
Low / verification concern
  1. No explicit footprint courtyard is visible. This is not a datasheet mismatch because the datasheet gives no recommended land pattern, but it may affect downstream placement checks.
  2. The EP uses one full-size paste aperture. The datasheet does not specify paste-windowing, so correctness cannot be established from the primary source.
  3. The STEP model is attached but cannot be dimensionally verified with the current inspection output. Its mere presence does not prove package height, seating, orientation, or pad alignment.

Table


IssueSeverityRecommended remediation
Part Type: Inductors, Part Sub-Type: Fixed, empty InductanceHighReclassify as an integrated circuit / automotive power-management or System Basis IC; remove inductor-only subtype and property.
EP authored as electrical terminal/pad 65 without a datasheet-defined pin or netHighObtain official ST application/package guidance for exposed-pad electrical connection. Until verified, clearly mark the terminal as electrically unverified; do not assume GNDA, GNDD, or GNDBST. Preserve the physical 4.5 × 4.5 mm land.
All documented pins have Pin Type: UnspecifiedMediumPopulate pins 1–64 with the Input, Output, I/O, or Supply types from Table 2; retain the Local/Global qualifier in description or role metadata if Flux has no dedicated field.
All documented pins lack descriptionsMediumPopulate pins 1–64 with the exact Table 2 function descriptions.
Missing package/case and mount metadataMediumSet package/case to TQFP64EP, 10 × 10 × 1 mm, exposed pad down and mount to SMD using the project's approved property taxonomy.
NU pin 53 grounding requirement not capturedMediumAdd the exact description Not used. To be connected to ground voltage. and an appropriate input/passive ERC type; document the mandatory ground connection.
No explicit courtyardLowAdd or validate a courtyard against the organization's assembly-clearance standard or a qualified IPC land-pattern source; the ST datasheet does not define one.
Full-size EP paste apertureLow / manufacturing riskHave assembly engineering select a paste-window pattern and coverage appropriate for the 4.5 mm EP; the ST datasheet does not specify stencil details.
STEP model dimensions and seating unverifiedLowMeasure the model bounding box and check 10 × 10 mm body, ≤1.20 mm height, z=0 seating, pin-1 orientation, and lead/pad alignment before release.
Verification limitations
  • The official datasheet provides a package mechanical drawing but no recommended PCB land pattern, solder-mask expansion, paste-window pattern, courtyard, or thermal-via layout. Those footprint details are therefore not verifiable against this primary document.
  • The datasheet confirms an exposed pad and its 4.5 × 4.5 mm size but does not list it in the electrical pin table or state its required net in the extracted text. Its project terminal number/type/net are unverified.
  • The scene tree exposes the STEP asset name but not a trustworthy measured bounding box; 3D geometry was not proven.
  • Flux layout scene-tree numeric geometry is stored/rendered through mixed internal units; the authoritative footprint comparison used the embedded KiCad footprint payload and the rendered 10 mm fabrication outline rather than interpreting the raw computed decimals as millimeters.
  • The Flux datasheet query result did not return immutable inline citation IDs. No fabricated citation markers were inserted. Re-run citation verification when the tool exposes markdown_inline/citation-map output.
Mutation record
  • Datasheet URL: no mutation; it was already set to the direct official ST PDF.
  • Symbol, terminal metadata, and footprint: intentionally not modified, per audit scope.
  • Project file: created this Part Datasheet Audit record.
Audit conclusion
All 65 project terminal/pad positions are accounted for: pins 1–64 have exact datasheet number/name matches, and project pad/terminal 65 corresponds physically to the verified 4.5 × 4.5 mm exposed die pad but is not a datasheet-defined electrical pin. The footprint's fundamental package geometry, lead count, pitch, body size, and EP size match the official package data. The substantive defects are incorrect part classification (including the inapplicable Fixed sub-type and empty Inductance field), absent package metadata, missing descriptions, unspecified electrical pin types, and unsupported electrical treatment of the exposed pad. Lifecycle is intentionally left unresolved because official ST pages disagree between NRND and Active.
  • Scope and evidence status

  • Authoritative citation locators

  • Current project metadata inventory

  • Available asset inventory

  • Exact identity and variant

  • Lifecycle note

  • Concise key specifications

  • Complete pin and schematic-symbol comparison

  • Overall findings

  • Pins 1–32

  • Pins 33–65

  • PCB footprint and pad comparison

  • Verified from project inspection

  • Datasheet comparison

  • Mismatches and severity

  • High

  • Medium

  • Low / verification concern

  • Recommended remediation by issue

  • Verification limitations

  • Mutation record

  • Audit conclusion