I’ll identify the exact 1040 test-point manufacturer, verify its mechanical and sourcing data from primary sources, then create the requested application and usage guide as a project file.
The Keystone Electronics 1040 is an uninsulated, tin-plated brass, through-hole slotted PCB test point intended to provide a durable electrical access point for measurement, production test, and service troubleshooting. Its usual application is a single-node connection for oscilloscope probes, meter leads, J-hooks, grabbers, clips, and similar temporary test leads.
Verification note: Keystone has published multiple catalog drawings whose extracted dimensions do not agree with current distributor metadata. Confirm the latest manufacturer drawing before releasing the PCB footprint; the electrical-rating fields below are explicitly marked unverified where Keystone does not publish a value.
Created the 1040 Application and Usage Guide with integration guidance, layout practices, alternatives, sourcing information, and authoritative source links.
Open item
Manufacturer and distributor sources conflict on the mounting-hole diameter: 1.20 mm vs. 1.00 mm. The guide flags this for verification before footprint release.
The Keystone Electronics 1040 is an uninsulated, tin-plated brass, through-hole slotted PCB test point intended to provide a durable electrical access point for measurement, production test, and service troubleshooting. Its usual application is a single-node connection for oscilloscope probes, meter leads, J-hooks, grabbers, clips, and similar temporary test leads.
Verification note: Keystone has published multiple catalog drawings whose extracted dimensions do not agree with current distributor metadata. Confirm the latest manufacturer drawing before releasing the PCB footprint; the electrical-rating fields below are explicitly marked unverified where Keystone does not publish a value.
1. Quick Specifications
Table
Attribute
Classification
Value / Status
Component type
Recommended-use data
Slotted, uninsulated PCB test point; through-hole solder mounting
Body material
Construction
Brass
Finish
Construction
Tin plate
Number of electrical terminals
Construction
1
Distributor-listed mounting hole
Mechanical
0.039 in (1.00 mm) nominal
Manufacturer catalog drawing found for Cat. No. 1040
Mechanical
Shows a 0.047 in (1.20 mm) mounting-hole callout and 0.025 in (0.64 mm) brass thickness; this conflicts with current distributor metadata and must be checked against the production lot/latest drawing
Distributor-listed envelope
Mechanical
0.275 in × 0.110 in (6.99 mm × 2.79 mm); height not consistently specified
Manufacturer drawing dimensions found
Mechanical
Includes 0.390 in (9.9 mm) overall and 0.275 in (7.0 mm) local dimensions; use the actual manufacturer drawing rather than this summary for footprint/mechanical clearance
Absolute maximum voltage
Absolute maximum
Not specified by manufacturer in the located catalog sheet
Absolute maximum current
Absolute maximum
Not specified by manufacturer in the located catalog sheet
Operating temperature
Recommended operating condition
Not specified for 1040 in the located manufacturer catalog sheet
Contact resistance
Electrical characteristic
Not specified
Insulation rating
Electrical characteristic
None; the part is uninsulated
Packaging
Purchasing
Bulk
Compliance
Purchasing
Common distributor listings report RoHS3 compliant and MSL 1; verify the current compliance certificate with the purchase order
Unlike an active semiconductor or connector pair, this single metal terminal has no supply-voltage range or logic-level requirement. The safe voltage, current, and temperature are controlled by PCB creepage/clearance, copper and via geometry, solder-joint capacity, probe rating, enclosure access, contamination, and the end-product safety standard—not by a published 1040 electrical rating.
2. Pinout & Connections
Table
Pin Number
Pin Name
Description
Best Practice
1
TP / TEST
Single conductive brass terminal electrically joined to its plated through-hole pad and connected net
Connect directly to the node being measured. Give the net a descriptive name such as TP_3V3, TP_GND, TP_SWDIO, or TP_VOUT; do not leave an intended test point on an electrically isolated pad.
For ground access, connect pin 1 to the ground plane with a short, low-inductance path. For sensitive analog or high-speed nodes, place the test point only after checking whether its added pad, stub, and attached probe capacitance are acceptable.
3. Standard Application Circuit
The standard implementation is simply a one-pin test point connected to the target net:
Text
TARGET_NET ───── plated-through pad ───── Keystone 1040
No pull-up, pull-down, bias resistor, or decoupling capacitor is intrinsically required. Any passive component near the test point belongs to the measured circuit, not to the 1040 itself.
Practical implementations:
Power rail: Connect to the rail through a short copper path. Add a nearby ground test point so a probe can use a short ground spring rather than a long clip lead.
Ground: Connect directly to the plane, preferably with solid copper or multiple nearby vias if the point will carry temporary bench current.
Digital debug/programming: Connect to the signal net without creating a long branch. Keep SWD/JTAG/UART test points grouped and clearly labeled.
Sensitive analog node: If the circuit permits, place a series isolation resistor at the source or provide a dedicated buffered test node. Probe capacitance can alter loop stability or filter response.
High-voltage node: Maintain required creepage and clearance around both the exposed metal terminal and any attached clip. Do not treat the uninsulated 1040 as touch-safe.
The part is suitable as an observation point, but it should not be assumed to be a rated power connector or production current-injection terminal because Keystone does not publish a current rating for this catalog item.
4. PCB Layout & Routing Guidelines
Verify the finished-hole requirement before fabrication. Available sources conflict between approximately 1.00 mm and 1.20 mm for part 1040. Match the footprint to the latest controlled Keystone drawing and account for finished-hole plating tolerance.
Use an annular ring that satisfies the PCB fabricator’s minimum ring after drill wander. For hand soldering or repeated clip use, a mechanically generous pad is preferable to a minimum-size annulus.
Keep enough component courtyard and vertical access for the intended J-hook, grabber, alligator clip, or probe. Prevent the clip body from shorting adjacent exposed metal.
Route high-current test or injection points with copper sized for the actual test current and duration; the test point itself has no located published current rating. Avoid narrow neck-downs between the pad and the power plane.
On high-speed or high-impedance signals, minimize the test-point branch length. A through-hole pad creates a capacitive discontinuity and via stub; use an SMT micro-test point or designed probe pad when signal integrity is critical.
Thermal relief is acceptable for ordinary low-current probing and easier soldering. Use a solid plane connection or heavier thermal spokes when the point is intended for ground reference, current injection, or repeated thermal/mechanical stress, subject to assembly solderability.
5. Common Pitfalls / Things to Watch Out For
Using an unverified drill size. The project/distributor description states a 1.00 mm hole, while a located Keystone catalog drawing extraction shows 1.20 mm. A wrong finished hole can prevent insertion or provide poor retention.
Treating the test point as electrically transparent or safety rated. Long probe leads can add inductance and noise, while the pad and probe add capacitance; exposed metal also requires spacing and access controls on hazardous-voltage nets.
6. Popular Alternatives & Equivalents
No independently verified, exact cross-manufacturer drop-in replacement was found. The options below require footprint and mechanical review:
Table
Alternative
Manufacturer
Compatibility
Engineering note
TP-105 series
Components Corporation
Potential hole-size/functional compatibility; not verified as drop-in
Low-profile, wave-solderable loop test point offered for approximately 1 mm PCB holes. It includes a color-coded insulating body and has different geometry.
20-2137 series
Vero Technologies
Functionally similar; not footprint-compatible without review
Loop terminal assembly for a 1.02 mm nominal hole, phosphor-bronze wire with bright-tin plating and a glass insulator. Check PCB thickness, pad, and keepout.
S1751-46 / S1751-46R family
Harwin
Functionally similar only; not footprint-compatible
Tin-finished SMT test point for clips and probes. Useful when eliminating a drilled hole or enabling automated placement, but requires an SMT footprint.
Keystone’s own nearby slotted/loop test-point catalog numbers may offer the closest construction, but they use different dimensions and hole sizes and should not be substituted by description alone.
7. Sourcing & Purchasing Guide
Table
Attribute
Details
Primary Distributors
Search franchised channels such as DigiKey, Mouser, Arrow, Newark/Farnell, Future Electronics, and authorized Keystone distributors. JLCPCB lists 1040 as part C5370876 for assembly sourcing; availability is dynamic.
Packaging Options
Manufacturer/distributor listings commonly show Bulk. Tape-and-reel was not verified for 1040.
Standard MOQ
DigiKey-style listings commonly allow 1 piece from bulk stock; manufacturer standard-pack quantities may be 100 or more. Confirm live MOQ and multiples at order time.
Sourcing Advice
Buy from Keystone-authorized or franchised distribution where possible. Confirm manufacturer Keystone Electronics, MPN 1040, plating, compliance revision, packaging, and—critically—the current mechanical drawing/hole requirement. Avoid relying on marketplace descriptions because several third-party pages contain conflicting dimensions.
Inventory, lead time, MOQ, and pricing change frequently and should be checked at the time of purchase. Do not qualify a substitution solely because it is described as a “1 mm test point”; terminal shape, retention method, board thickness, probe access, plating, and assembly process can differ.
Toby Electronics / Components Corporation, TP-105 Test Points for 1 mm PCB Hole, distributor/manufacturer identification page, accessed 2026-09-29.
DigiKey-derived listing, Keystone 1040 / 36-1040-ND metadata, used only for distributor attributes such as bulk packaging, nominal 1.00 mm hole listing, and alternate ordering identifiers; accessed 2026-09-29.
Unverified or unavailable data
Keystone 1040 voltage rating, current rating, contact resistance, and operating-temperature range were not found in the located manufacturer catalog material.
A current manufacturer document revision uniquely resolving the 1.00 mm versus 1.20 mm hole discrepancy was not found. This must be resolved before footprint release or purchasing qualification.
Exact cross-manufacturer drop-in replacements were not verified.