Samtec Part Review


I’ll review the current part metadata, find and set an official datasheet URL if missing, then compare the symbol, footprint, and pin descriptions against the datasheet.
I found the official Samtec SSQ catalog and product documents, and the part now resolves as SSQ-119-03-T-D with the official catalog URL set on the project. I’m checking the actual footprint against Samtec’s footprint/print PDFs now.
Created a project doc

Part Datasheet Review — Samtec SSQ-119-03-T-D

View Document

Date: 2026-07-17 Reviewed available part metadata, schematic symbol terminals, PCB footprint geometry, and official Samtec documentation for...
Completed the review and set the Datasheet URL to the official Samtec SSQ catalog PDF. I created the detailed findings in Part Datasheet Review — Samtec SSQ-119-03-T-D.
Open items:
  • Description metadata likely needs correction: it mentions gold plating and 8.08 mm stack height, while the reviewed SSQ-119-03-T-D docs indicate matte tin and 8.51 mm REF body height.
  • Terminal pin descriptions are missing, though the 38-pin symbol and footprint geometry otherwise match the Samtec documentation.
Suggested next steps:
  1. Ask me to update the description metadata to match the datasheet.
  2. Ask me to add clear Pin Description properties for terminals 01–38.
  3. Ask me to run a focused 3D model-to-footprint alignment check.
Fix metadata and pins
Update description metadata
Add pin descriptions
Check 3D alignment
Run quality checks

Part Datasheet Review — Samtec SSQ-119-03-T-D
Date: 2026-07-17
Scope
Reviewed available part metadata, schematic symbol terminals, PCB footprint geometry, and official Samtec documentation for the current published part project.
Current Flux part information observed

Table


FieldCurrent value
Project / part nameSSQ-119-03-T-D
ManufacturerSamtec
Manufacturer Part NumberSSQ-119-03-T-D
Part TypeConnector
Designator PrefixJ
Datasheet URLhttps://suddendocs.samtec.com/catalog_english/ssq_th.pdf
Description38 Position Receptacle Connector 0.100" (2.54mm) Through Hole Tin; longer description also mentions dual-row socket header, 19 positions/row, through-hole, 0.100" pitch, 0.318"/8.08 mm stack height, and gold-plated contacts.
Schematic terminals38 terminal components, numbered 01 through 38
PCB footprint assetSAMTEC_SSQ-119-X-X-D.kicad_mod
3D model assetSSQ-119-03-T-D.stp
Official documentation used
Datasheet URL update
No usable Datasheet URL was initially present in the library search result. The project now has the official Samtec SSQ catalog URL set:
https://suddendocs.samtec.com/catalog_english/ssq_th.pdf
Key datasheet / print specs

Table


SpecOfficial value
SeriesSSQ, Tiger Buy socket strip with square tails
Connector typeThrough-hole receptacle / socket strip
Configured MPNSSQ-119-03-T-D
Positions19 positions per row
Total contacts38 contacts
RowsDouble row (-D)
Pitch along row0.100 in / 2.54 mm
Row-to-row hole spacing0.100 in / 2.54 mm
Body length19 × 0.100 in + 0.020 in = 1.920 in / 48.77 mm nominal, ±0.010 in / ±0.25 mm
Body width for -D0.195 in / 4.95 mm REF
Body / insulator height0.335 in / 8.51 mm REF
Lead style-03, standard insertion force straight through-hole
Tail length, lead style -030.394 in / about 10.00 mm
Tail size0.025 in / 0.64 mm square
Plating-T = matte tin
Insulator materialBlack LCP for -S and -D; UL 94 V-0 per print extraction
Contact materialPhosphor bronze
Operating temperature-55 °C to +105 °C with tin
Current rating6.3 A per pin, 2 pins powered, for SSQ/TSW pairing
Voltage rating465 VAC / 655 VDC
Insertion depth0.145 in to 0.250 in / 3.68 mm to 6.35 mm
Lead-free solderableYes for -D row option
Recommended PCB holeØ0.040 in / 1.02 mm typical
Copper pad diameterNot specified in the extracted Samtec footprint PDF text
Schematic symbol cross-check

Table


CheckResult
Terminal countPASS — 38 terminals match 19 positions/row × 2 rows.
Pin numbering rangePASS — symbol has numbered terminals 01 through 38.
Odd/even row conventionLIKELY PASS — symbol arrangement places odd numbers on one side and even numbers on the other, matching the print convention where 01/02 share the first column, 03/04 the next, etc.
Pin electrical typePASS — terminals are Passive, appropriate for a passive connector.
Pin descriptionsFLAG — no explicit Pin Description properties are present. For a generic socket strip this is not electrically wrong, but descriptions such as “Socket contact, column N row A/B” would improve library quality.
Pin 1 indicator in symbolFLAG — the schematic symbol exposes terminal 01, but no explicit pin-1 note/description was observed.
PCB footprint cross-check
Observed footprint asset: SAMTEC_SSQ-119-X-X-D.kicad_mod.

Table


CheckResult
Pad countPASS — 38 pads.
Pad numberingPASS — pads 01 through 38 present.
Pitch along rowPASS — footprint uses 2.54 mm column pitch.
Row spacingPASS — rows are at ±1.27 mm, giving 2.54 mm row spacing.
Row lengthPASS — first-to-last column span is 45.72 mm, equal to (19−1) × 2.54 mm.
Drill sizePASS — footprint uses 1.02 mm drill, matching Samtec’s Ø0.040 in / 1.02 mm recommended hole.
Pad diameterINFORMATIVE — footprint uses 1.53 mm pad diameter. The extracted Samtec footprint PDF did not specify a copper pad diameter, only hole diameter, so no official mismatch can be claimed.
Pin 1 markingPASS — pad 01 is rectangular and a silk/fab marker circle appears at the pin-1 end. The extracted Samtec footprint PDF did not require a unique pad shape, but this is acceptable library convention.
Body/silk outlinePASS — silk/fab outline is about 48.77 mm × 4.95 mm, matching the official body length formula and -D body width reference.
3D modelNOT FULLY VERIFIED — model asset name matches SSQ-119-03-T-D, but dimensional alignment was not visually/mechanically measured beyond asset presence and footprint match.
Mismatches / concerns flagged
  1. Project description contains likely incorrect details: it mentions “0.318 in / 8.08 mm stack height” and “gold-plated contacts.” For SSQ-119-03-T-D, the reviewed official docs indicate -T matte tin plating and 0.335 in / 8.51 mm REF body/insulator height. If “stack height” was intended as a mating-system dimension, it needs a separate citation; otherwise this text should be corrected.
  2. Pin descriptions are missing: all 38 terminals are passive numbered terminals, but no descriptive per-pin text is present.
  3. Original generic MPN in search result was stale: the library search for SSQ-119-X-X-D still returned an older generic placeholder result immediately after edits, while the project now resolves as SSQ-119-03-T-D. This may be indexing lag.
  4. Copper pad diameter cannot be fully validated from extracted official footprint text: Samtec’s footprint PDF extraction confirmed the 1.02 mm drill and 2.54 mm pitch/row spacing, but did not expose an official land diameter.
Overall assessment
The symbol terminal count/numbering and footprint geometry are substantially consistent with Samtec SSQ-119-03-T-D. The most important mismatch is descriptive metadata: the part description appears to contain gold-plating and 8.08 mm stack-height claims that do not match the reviewed -T tin configuration and 8.51 mm REF body height data. The other quality improvement is adding explicit pin descriptions for terminals 01–38.
  • Scope

  • Current Flux part information observed

  • Official documentation used

  • Datasheet URL update

  • Key datasheet / print specs

  • Schematic symbol cross-check

  • PCB footprint cross-check

  • Mismatches / concerns flagged

  • Overall assessment