The connectivity comparison confirms that all 49 nets still connect the same pins. The readability check found more work in the op-amp stages and electrode-jack wiring, which I’m correcting now.
The analog stages now have drawn signal paths, but a wire-placement bug on flipped symbols is blocking part of the USB drawing. I’ll leave the affected connections labeled and finish the independent label fixes; the bug needs Contact Support.
I arranged all 78 components into eight functional blocks and added local wires and net labels. All 49 nets retain exactly the same pin connections; no electrical connections changed.
The drawing is not fully clean: wire crossings and label crowding remain, and a flipped-symbol wire-placement bug blocks the shared USB power wire. That bug needs Contact Support; the remaining drafting cleanup is still open.
Electrical capture finished: 78 components, 49 nets, including USB Type-C, a protected surface-electrode input, instrumentation amplifier, high-pass/gain/low-pass chain, driven reference, STM32F401 and support circuitry. No PCB placement/routing, firmware image, manufacturing release or human-use qualification is complete. This record distinguishes schematic facts, calculations, ideal simulations and unverified real-world limits.
Generic capture resistors; six limiters have Panasonic MPNs
Actual values in live schematic
C1–C31
31
Generic capture capacitors; C24/C26 have Murata MPNs
Actual values in live schematic
Package policy and actual exceptions
User rule: 0402 wherever practical; larger only when needed. Of 62 R/C components, 48 are 0402. Exceptions:
Table
Size
References
Reason / qualification
0603
C1, C4, C5, C10, C11
Bulk/VCAP capacitance and effective-C margin. C4/C5/C11 remain generic; actual bias, temperature and ESR qualification is OPEN, not established from nominal capacitance.
0805
C23
100 nF stable-dielectric coupling target; exact procurement part remains open.
0805
C24/C26
12/15 nF C0G: selected Murata GCM2195C1H123JA16D / GCM2195C1H153JA16D. A real smaller C0G option was not found; LCSC stock is unconfirmed.
1206
R6–R9, R27/R28
Redundant electrode current-limit paths, Panasonic ERJ-P08F1003V / ERJ-P08F2003V, actual tolerance 1%. Pulse capability still requires application-specific verification.
0805
F1
Resettable-fuse package, not an R/C exception.
Signal chain calculations
Per input: two 100 kOhm series limiters, a low-leakage midpoint clamp, 10 MOhm bias return to VMID, matched 10 pF common-mode RF caps and 47 pF differential cap.
INA gain from the selected topology: 1 + 100k / (2 x 4.99k) = 11.02. Splitting RG creates CM_SENSE, buffered before driven-reference processing.
Gain jumper: J4 open gives nominal overall gain about 101; fitted gives about 501, referenced to VMID. Input loading lowers ideal simulated peaks to 99.6 and 493.
LP: fourth order via two unity-gain Sallen-Key sections, calculated Q approximately 0.548 / 1.306, natural frequencies about 506/505 Hz. This is not two identical second-order Butterworth filters.
ADC: LP2_OUT through R24 100 Ohm into ADC_EMG, with C28 1 nF; U1 PA0 / ADC1_IN0. Sampling target 8 kS/s.
VMID follows half the actual 3V3A rail, not necessarily exactly 1.650 V. The 10 Ohm analog-feed resistor causes load-dependent rail drop; this was not included as a worst-case sweep in the ideal simulations.
Simplified simulation results — NOT hardware proof
The capture used ideal signal-chain amplifiers and a single-pole behavioral op-amp model for driven-reference stability. No vendor macro-models, tolerance Monte Carlo, ESD model or hardware measurements were used.
Table
Result
Low gain
High gain
Peak gain
99.6 V/V
493 V/V
Relative -3 dB band
19.1–511.5 Hz
Same
Rejection at 4 kHz
72.7 dB relative to 100 Hz
Same
Rejection at 7.5 kHz
96.4 dB relative to 100 Hz
Same
Approximate unclipped input
+/-15.8 mVpk
+/-3.2 mVpk
At +100 mV differential DC electrode offset, the ideal model gives INA_OUT about 2.73 V and ADC bias 1.650 V after settling; tested 15 mVpk low-gain / 3 mVpk high-gain inputs stayed near 0.2–3.1 V output. The reported combined |offset + AC signal| limit of about 145 mV is calculated using ideal rail/headroom assumptions. INA333 input-common-mode/output envelope at 3.3 V and actual analog supply drop remain bench-validation items. Do not claim these input ranges across supply, temperature, leakage and component variation without testing.
Driven reference
CM_SENSE -> U5A buffer -> U5B inversion around VMID using R25=49.9 kOhm, R26=1 MOhm in parallel with C30=10 nF -> R27/R28=200 kOhm each -> J1 sleeve. D5 clamps the resistor midpoint to analog rails. Feedback DC gain about -20 and pole about 15.9 Hz, calculated. Spare U5 channels are closed-loop followers at VMID.
Table
Behavioral loop case
Crossover
Phase margin
50kOhm
47nF electrodes, 200pF cables
500pF cables
214 Hz
53.8 degrees
200kOhm
10nF electrodes
The nominal simulated setup gave about 30.6 dB common-mode reduction at 60 Hz; this is setup-dependent, not a universal CMRR claim. An open reference lead can rail the amplifier; there is no dedicated hardware lead-off detector. Verify lead-open recovery, real electrode/cable variation, clamp leakage and common-mode conversion from finite bias impedance and resistor mismatch. Raising C30 from 4.7 to 10 nF traded some common-mode suppression for stability margin.
Electrode current calculations — not compliance limits
For a conservative 5.25 V local fault, ignoring clamp assistance and using the actual 1% limiter tolerances:
Input leg with both 100k resistors: 5.25 / (2 x 99k) = 26.5 uA.
Input leg with one resistor shorted: 5.25 / 99k = 53.0 uA.
Driven reference with both 200k resistors: 5.25 / (2 x 198k) = 13.3 uA.
Driven reference with one resistor shorted: 5.25 / 198k = 26.5 uA.
These are elementary local-voltage calculations, not total patient leakage, mains-fault protection, allowable applied-part limits or a single-fault compliance analysis. Isolation failure can expose a completely different voltage/energy. Pulse curves, resistor matching, clamp failure, temperature and all patient paths still require qualified review.
USB and protection details
Type-C has separate R29/R30 5.1 kOhm CC pulldowns, mirrored USB2 data contacts tied by polarity, no PD. R4/R5 default to 0 Ohm; footprints allow bring-up tuning.
R3=10k/R31=20k gives PA9 nominally 2/3 of protected VBUS: 3.50 V at 5.25 V; about 3.52 V including opposite 1% resistor extremes, calculated. Actual MCU input/ramp behavior remains a bench check.
F1 separates VBUS_CONN from 5V_USB. Its recorded hold/trip values are 0.20/0.50 A at room temperature; use the published temperature derating rather than assuming these at all temperatures.
C1=4.7 uF plus C2=1 uF gives 5.7 uF direct nominal input capacitance. This does not replace measuring total attach inrush, including downstream charging.
D1 pin mapping is from TI's pin table. Its 5.5 V stand-off rating and clamp levels do not establish MCU survival under all ESD pulses.
D4 has 6.0 V stand-off but can clamp as high as 10.3 V at its stated pulse current. This is above the LDO maximum recorded in its component note; surge coordination is not qualified. Operate only from 4.75–5.25 V. Neither the PTC nor TVS is a general overvoltage regulator.
D4 pin 1=cathode was checked against the actual library symbol cathode bar and footprint silk bar/pad marking; the manufacturer uses a cathode band. The generic pin names still trigger one ERC metadata warning.
Provisional power budget
These are engineering allowances, not a completed datasheet-worst-case budget. No sleep mode is defined, so sleep current is unverified. Actual firmware/temperature/per-part maxima must be qualified before final power-path release.
Table
Rail / load
Sleep
Typical allowance
Peak/design allowance
3V3, MCU digital/USB/core
Not specified
25 mA
45 mA continuous reserve
3V3A, 8 op-amp channels
Not specified
6 mA
8 mA reserve
3V3A, INA
Not specified
0.05 mA
0.1 mA reserve
3V3A, MCU analog/reference network
Not specified
1 mA
2 mA reserve
Rails/direct USB miscellaneous allowance
Not specified
2 mA
3 mA reserve
Total rounded USB input
Unverified
35 mA
60 mA design budget
The LDO reflects output current approximately 1:1 to input; rounded miscellaneous allowance includes divider, CC and regulator overhead rather than a verified per-part quiescent sum. At 60 mA, calculated LDO dissipation is (5.25-3.3) x 0.06 = 0.117 W before detailed thermal analysis. At 3.5 Ohm recorded PTC resistance, drop is 0.21 V; minimum protected input is about 4.54 V from 4.75 V. F1 temperature derating, isolator output current/inrush/foldback and LDO thermal performance still need confirmation. Do not infer a 3 A USB allowance from Type-C: the present design budgets less than 100 mA and does not read high-current advertisement.
Electrode cable and handling
Candidate SparkFun CAB-12970, a documented 3.5 mm three-conductor-to-three-snap surface-pad cable. Sources previously inspected: product sheet, product page. Exact color/contact map is unpublished in that material. Verify and label tip=EMG+, ring=EMG-, sleeve=REF for every cable. Sleeve is NOT ground. Never connect audio equipment, never claim needle compatibility, and insert/remove only with electrodes detached from a person.
Review outcome and open items
Final ERC read: 0 errors, 1 warning for D4's unspecified library pin metadata. Polarity was manually checked as described, so the warning is justified, not hidden.
PCB checks show expected unrouted airwires and other unplaced-board findings. This is not a clean fabrication DRC and no board is released.
Unknown external isolator model, leakage/insulation classification, shield continuity, output capacity and all alternate-ground paths block human-use qualification.
Procurement still must qualify generic MLCCs (especially effective C and VCAP ESR), pulse withstand and exact crystal CL, confirm selected C0G stock and complete final BOM/footprint checks.
Vendor-model/tolerance simulation, hot leakage/CMRR/headroom, real RLD stability and lead recovery, ESD coordination, firmware and bench validation remain open.
Next phase options
Review the captured electrical design; then optionally draw the readable schematic (about 35–45 minutes and roughly 30 ACU for this size), build acquisition firmware, or set physical board constraints and proceed to PCB placement. Drafting and layout are not performed automatically in this turn.
Status and deliverables
Records
As-captured BOM overview
Package policy and actual exceptions
Signal chain calculations
Simplified simulation results — NOT hardware proof
Driven reference
Electrode current calculations — not compliance limits