Eaton Part Audit


I’ll audit the part metadata, locate the official Eaton datasheet if needed, update the Datasheet property, then verify the symbol pins and footprint geometry against the manufacturer’s specifications.
Thought for 5 mins 39 sec
Referenced guidance.
Thought for 9 sec — Researching tool schemas
Created 4 tasks.
1/4 Audit current part metadata, symbol, footprint, and pin descriptions

Audit current part metadata, symbol, footprint, and pin descriptions

Find and validate the official manufacturer datasheet

Update the Datasheet property if missing

Cross-check all details and report specs and mismatches

Thought for 13 sec
Thought for 1 min 31 sec
Awaiting 1 background task
Received notification from "Eaton Part Audit" that it finished — picking the work back up.
The audit executor has finished. I’m reconciling its findings against the actual project state and will close out any remaining verification or reporting gaps.
Audit complete. The existing Datasheet property already links to the official Eaton PDF, so no update was necessary; pin count, polarity, 3.5 mm pitch, and 8 mm body diameter match.
Key flags: unverified 3D-model seating, missing structured Manufacturer property, misleading TO package classification, generic rectangular symbol, and absent pin descriptions. Full results: Part Quality Audit.
Fix metadata and symbol
Verify 3D model
Improve electrical properties
Review manufacturability

+
Pin Number
1
-
Pin Number
2
Part Quality Audit
Scope and authority
Audited the published Flux part project for Eaton HSL0814-3R8106-R against Eaton’s official HS/HSL Supercapacitors — Hybrid cylindrical cells, Technical Data 11043 (effective February 2025):
The current Datasheet URL already points to this stable official Eaton PDF, so no property edit was made.
Current metadata inspected
Project metadata
  • Name: HSL0814-3R8106-R
  • Published part UID: 1e18fb34-4b75-4e55-9769-b86362fa076a
  • Description: identifies Eaton, 10 F, 3.8 V, HSL hybrid supercapacitor, 1.5 Ω maximum DC ESR at 25 °C, 3 µA maximum HSL leakage at 25 °C after 72-hour charge/hold, −25 to +70 °C, 8 × 14 mm body, 3.5 mm lead pitch, and 0.6 mm lead diameter.
Every current project property
  • Designator Prefix: C
  • Mount: Through Hole
  • Manufacturer Part Number: HSL0814-3R8106-R
  • Part Type: Capacitors
  • Datasheet URL: official Eaton PDF above
  • Package or Case Code: TO
Not present: a dedicated Manufacturer Name property. The project description states Eaton, but manufacturer is not represented in the structured property set.
Official key specifications

Table


FactOfficial Eaton valueAudit result
Technology/typeHSL hybrid cylindrical supercapacitor; low-leakage HSL familyDescription matches in substance
Capacitance10 F, ±20%Nominal matches; tolerance absent from structured metadata
Maximum rated working voltage3.8 VMatches description
Minimum rated working voltage2.5 VNot represented
Minimum allowed working voltage2.2 VNot represented
Surge voltage4.2 VNot represented
DC ESR1500 mΩ maximum at +25 °CMatches description; Eaton notes capacitance/ESR use internal specifications
ESR at 1 kHz500 mΩ maximum at +25 °CNot represented
HSL leakage3.0 µA maximum at +25 °C after 72-hour charge and holdMatches description. Table shows HS/HSL values 2.0/3.0 µA respectively
HSL operating temperature−25 °C to +70 °CMatches description
Rated charge/discharge current0.05 ANot represented
Maximum charge/discharge current0.5 ANot represented
Short-circuit current2.5 ANot represented
Body diameter ØD8.0 ±0.5 mmNominal footprint outline matches 8.0 mm
Body length L14.0 ±2.0 mmDescription matches; footprint is top-view only
Lead pitch P3.5 ±0.5 mmFootprint matches nominal 3.5 mm
Lead diameter Ød0.6 ±0.05 mmFootprint drill is 0.90 mm
Positive lead length27.0 ±3.0 mmNot represented in footprint metadata
Negative lead length22.0 ±3.0 mmNot represented in footprint metadata
Weight1.4 g referenceNot represented
Body marking3.8 V, 10 F; manufacturer/RU/family or part number/polarity/lot marking shown as referenceFootprint only provides + polarity mark
PolarityPolarized; do not reverse polaritySymbol and footprint identify + and −
Eaton does not publish a recommended PCB land pattern, finished-hole diameter, or copper-pad diameter in this datasheet. Therefore hole and land suitability cannot be called an official match; only their relationship to the published lead diameter can be evaluated.
Schematic symbol and terminal audit
Current symbol
  • Custom symbol body: plain 220 × 220 rectangular box.
  • Two terminals, no nets.
  • Pin 1: name/designator +, passive type, left side.
  • Pin 2: name/designator , passive type, right side.
  • Both terminal objects have Part Type Terminal, Pin Type Passive, and pin numbers 1/2.
  • Pin Description is absent for both terminals.
Comparison
  • Confirmed match: two electrical terminals; polarized + and − representation; passive pin type is appropriate; pin 1 is consistently bound to the footprint’s positive-marked rectangular pad, and pin 2 to the circular negative pad.
  • Not specified by Eaton: Eaton labels physical terminals + and − but does not assign schematic/PCB numbers 1 and 2. The project’s 1 = +, 2 = − convention is internally consistent but not manufacturer-numbered.
  • Quality mismatch: the symbol body is a generic rectangle rather than the conventional polarized capacitor/supercapacitor symbol. This can reduce schematic readability but does not prevent connectivity.
  • Metadata gap: terminal descriptions are missing (recommended descriptions would identify positive/long lead and negative/short lead, but no edit was authorized).
Footprint and mechanical audit
Current footprint source
HSL0814-3R8106-R_Radial_D8mm_P3.5mm.kicad_mod, through-hole.
Current actual geometry versus Eaton source

Table


FeatureCurrent footprintEaton sourceStatus
Pad count22 leadsConfirmed
Pad centersx = −1.75 mm and +1.75 mmP = 3.5 ±0.5 mmConfirmed nominal pitch
Pitch3.50 mm3.5 ±0.5 mmConfirmed
Pad 11.80 × 1.80 mm rectangular PTHNo land size specifiedNot specified by datasheet
Pad 2Ø1.80 mm circular PTHNo land size specifiedNot specified by datasheet
DrillØ0.90 mm both padsLead Ø0.60 ±0.05 mmPlausible 0.25–0.35 mm diametral clearance, but not an Eaton-confirmed recommendation
Annular ring0.45 mm radial nominalNot specifiedNot specified by datasheet
Fab body outlineØ8.00 mm circleØ8.0 ±0.5 mmConfirmed nominal body diameter
Silkscreen bodyØ8.00 mm circleØ8.0 ±0.5 mmNominal match; silkscreen is not tolerance-expanded
Courtyard8.8 × 8.8 mm squareMaximum body diameter 8.5 mmEncloses maximum nominal tolerance with 0.15 mm per-side residual margin; no Eaton courtyard requirement
Polarity mark+ at left/Pad 1 sideDatasheet requires polarity and drawing shows +/−Confirmed in intent
Value textHSL0814-3R8106-R on fab, disabled in rendered layoutBody marking reference includes voltage/capacitance and other marksPCB fab text need not duplicate can marking
The current polarity convention is internally coherent: schematic pin 1 + maps to the left rectangular pad adjacent to the + silkscreen; pin 2 maps to the right circular pad. Eaton’s drawing identifies the longer lead as positive (27 mm nominal) and the shorter lead as negative (22 mm nominal), but does not define numbered pad orientation in a PCB land pattern.
3D model audit
  • A STEP asset exists: HS0814-3R8106-R_HSL0814-3R8106-R.STEP.
  • It is attached to the footprint with scale 1 and rotations X = −90°, Y = +90°, Z = 0°.
  • Placement rule is approximately X = 0, Y = 0.0001 mm, Z = 13.7788 mm.
  • The platform exposes GLB/STL/OBJ/3MF conversions.
  • Exact model bounding dimensions and lead geometry could not be independently extracted in the available sandbox because the binary attachment was not delivered to the geometry parser. Consequently, dimensional fidelity is not verified.
  • The unusually large positive Z placement is a review concern. It may compensate for the STEP file’s internal origin after rotation, but without a successful rendered/model-geometry measurement it cannot be classified as seated correctly or incorrectly.
Prioritized mismatches and risks
  1. High — 3D model seating/dimensions unverified: model uses Z = 13.7788 mm after compound rotation. This may be correct origin compensation or may leave the model floating. Confirm in the 3D viewer or by bounding-box inspection before relying on mechanical exports.
  2. Medium — Manufacturer Name structured property missing: exact manufacturer is Eaton and is present in description/source, but not in the current property list.
  3. Medium — Package or Case Code TO is misleading/non-specific: the part is an 8 × 14 mm radial cylindrical capacitor, not a transistor-style TO package. This can impair search/classification; it does not alter the explicit custom footprint.
  4. Medium — Symbol is not a conventional polarized-capacitor symbol: plain rectangle with +/− pins is electrically usable but visually poor for a supercapacitor library part.
  5. Low — Terminal descriptions absent: no explicit “positive/long lead” and “negative/short lead” descriptions.
  6. Low — Important published ratings are absent from structured properties: ±20% tolerance, 500 mΩ maximum ESR at 1 kHz, voltage floor/surge limits, and current ratings are not encoded. The requested constraint permitted only a Datasheet-property edit, so these were not changed.
  7. Informational — Pad/hole sizes cannot be manufacturer-confirmed: Eaton publishes 0.6 ±0.05 mm lead diameter but no recommended hole/land. The existing 0.9 mm drill and 1.8 mm pads appear mechanically reasonable, but remain library design choices rather than datasheet matches.
Severe-defect assessment
No confirmed defect was found that makes the electrical symbol or footprint unusable as-is. The pin/pad count, nominal pitch, body diameter, and polarity mapping are coherent. The unresolved 3D seating concern affects mechanical confidence and should be checked, but available evidence is insufficient to assert a severe model defect or file a geometry-quality ticket as fact.
Change and verification record
  • Datasheet property edit: not needed; no mutation made.
  • Persistence verification: project metadata readback shows the exact official Eaton PDF URL.
  • Read-only verification performed: project properties, full schematic terminals/properties, rendered symbol SVG, detailed footprint rules/geometry, asset inventory, official web identity search, and focused official-datasheet extraction.
  • Scope and authority

  • Current metadata inspected

  • Project metadata

  • Every current project property

  • Official key specifications

  • Schematic symbol and terminal audit

  • Current symbol

  • Comparison

  • Footprint and mechanical audit

  • Current footprint source

  • Current actual geometry versus Eaton source

  • 3D model audit

  • Prioritized mismatches and risks

  • Severe-defect assessment

  • Change and verification record